My, Haven’t You Grown – 18.09.16

Today you are 8 months old. I cannot believe you are fast approaching the big ‘1’. You’re gaining a character day by day and this week is no exception.

You now weigh a hefty 23 lbs which according to google is the same weight as the average amount of pizza consumed by a human being in a year, go figure!? You are holding yourself well when you’re picked up but you are still yet to sit up on your own unaided for long periods of time. I think you are definitely going to be like me in that you are more concerned about whats going on around you then silly things like sitting up.

You get very frustrated that you don’t move when you’re on your stomach and i can see now that you are fiery tempered as well as fiery headed. You get a cob on more than ever now as you are determined but can’t always do what you want to do.

Your reflux has almost disappeared and i’m pleased to say that you have been a week free of Ranitidine. I can now lie you on your tummy a little more and not feel like i need to put something under you in case you puke everywhere. Don’t get me wrong we still have those days, usually once i’ve put clean clothes on you. I’ve also flattened your cot so that you no longer sleep on a tilt. I can finally finish The Unmumsy Mum as that’s what was propping your bed up. Needs must.

You are really noticing people and recognising faces from across the room, your smile could melt a million hearts and it even got me 20% off my M and S shop this week. Obviously no matter what it will always melt my heart the most. A happy baby is a happy mummy.

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

It’s been a week of upgrading as you are now sat in a front facing car seat which you and i both love. It’s like you’ve instantly grown up as you’re sitting like a big boy. Although im not as keen on the new front facing buggy as i love to watch your face when we pass something that excites you. I know that you are going to be able to discover so much more now the world looks a little different and you’re not staring at my mug for most of it.

You’ve been experimenting with different foods and its great to see that you are as fond of food as me. Today marks not only an age milestone but also marks the day you try Marmite for the first time. I’m pleased to report you are a lover not a hater. You wait until you can eat curry my friend. Mind blowing stuff!

This week i also discovered that you sneeze twice when the sun shines in your face. Its the most bizarre thing but its totally adorable. You are my child so you had to have a few weird little traits.

You are officially now a non stop babbler and raspberry blower. I wish i knew what you were saying as you are having a fantastic time with yourself. I like to try and make out the words and I cross my fingers that you say mumma first, although its highly likely that you say dadda. Either way, to know what your voice will be like is a very scary prospect as i know it won’t be long.

I can’t believe all this has happened in a week. What will the next weeks future hold for you? We are heading to Suffolk next weekend and last time we went you were only 4 months old and it took 12 hours to get there.

Until next time my sweet boy.

Mumma x

Leave a Reply

